MEDALS AND PRIZES

American Institute of Architects Medal for Academic Excellence (1914). Awarded to the graduating student with the highest academic ranking in the first professional degree program. Awarded to Elmira Moskvina.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal (1914). Awarded each year to that graduating student who has shown an ability for leadership, performed willing service for the school and department, and given promise of real professional merit through attitude and personality. Awarded to Reem Sadek Elsaeid Ahmed Khorshid.

William Edward Parsons Memorial Medal (1941). Presented annually to members of the graduating class who have done distinctive work and demonstrated the greatest professional promise in the area of city planning. Awarded to Barbara Micha Nasila.

The H.I. Feldman Prize (1955). Awarded annually to the student who demonstrates the best solution to an architectural problem in an advanced studio, taking into consideration the practical, functional, and aesthetic requirements of that problem. Awarded to Nabil Sulayman Haque and Reem Nassour.

Wendy Elizabeth Blanning Prize (1976). Awarded annually to the student in the second year of the first professional degree program on financial aid who has shown the most promise of development in the profession. Awarded to Grace Chan.

Sonia Albert Schimberg Prize (1981). Awarded to a graduating woman student for outstanding academic performance. Awarded to Odette James.

Janet Cain Sielaff Alumni Award (1983). The Yale Architecture Alumni Association Award presented annually to that graduating student who most significantly contributed to, and fostered, school spirit. Awarded to Elise Margaret Kennedy.

Moulton Andrus Award (1984). Awarded to a graduating student who has achieved excellence in art and architecture. Awarded to Nabil Sulayman Haque.

The Drawing Prize (1985). Awarded to the graduating student who has excelled at drawing as part of the design process, is articulate with pencil, and shows architectural ideas with a strong personal graphic style of presentation. Awarded to Yumemaru Kashino and Samantha Ong.

Gene Lewis Book Prize (1986). Awarded to a graduating student who has shown promise for excellence in residential architecture. Awarded to Khalid Mohamud Jama Hassan.

David Taylor Memorial Prize (1996). Awarded to a graduating student who has shown promise or demonstrated interest in architectural criticism. Awarded to Austin Ehrhardt and Gioia Linnea Pappalardo.

Beatrice Shinn Reik Class of 1948 Memorial Prize (2020). Awarded to a graduating student who did the most to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion. Awarded to Andrea Marie Nicole Niava and Samarth Vishvesh Vachhrajani.

2 Medals and Prizes

Independent Design Research Award (2023). Awarded annually to the post-professional student who completes the best independent design research studio project. Awarded to Reem Branly Nassour.