## **ANNUAL AWARDS**

### **FELLOWSHIPS**

The *Dean's Travel Fellowship* for students representing the values of excellence and exploration that the Dean's Travel Fellowship hopes to inspire.

The Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, the school's oldest and largest endowed fellowships, established in 1893, are awarded annually for travel and study.

The *Harvey Geiger Fellowship Fund* is a travel and research grant given annually to two photography M.F.A. students for their summer projects between their first and second year of the program and to a Yale College student working in photography at the conclusion of their sophomore or junior year.

The Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship is awarded annually to a painting/printmaking student for travel abroad between the first and second years of study.

### **PRIZES**

The following prizes are awarded annually to enrolled students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement:

Richard Benson Prize for excellence in photography, leadership within the program, and a desire to teach

The Dean's Prize in recognition of second-year students whose proposed project, body of work, or artistic outlook exemplifies the spirit of the school's studio-based practice

Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize for the woman whose whole person demonstrates a developing consciousness, a personal vision, and a spirit of search

H. Lee Hirsche Memorial Prize for exemplary creativity and imagination

Fannie B. Pardee Prize for excellence in sculpture

Charles Sawyer Prize for distinction in graphic design

Schickle-Collingwood Prize in recognition of exceptional development and progress by a first-year student

Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize for excellence in painting

Ethel Childe Walker Prize in recognition of exceptional artistic development by an undergraduate student majoring in art

### HONORARY AWARDS

The following honorary awards are made each year by the faculty and the dean to enrolled students, on the basis of professional promise:

Phelps Berdan Memorial Award for distinction in painting/printmaking

George R. Bunker Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

Ward Cheney Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in performance and composition

Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award for outstanding achievement in drawing or painting from nature

Rebecca Taylor Porter Award for distinction in sculpture

Robert Reed Award to provide scholarships for students within the school

Ely Harwood Schless Award for excellence in painting

John Ferguson Weir Award in recognition of an outstanding student in the school

Susan H. Whedon Award in recognition of an outstanding student in sculpture

Helen Watson Winternitz Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

### **AWARD RECIPIENTS, 2023**

## **Fellowships**

Dean's Travel Fellowships, Zoe Cire, Julio Correa Estrada, Ivana Dama, Kayla Hawkins, Patrick F. Henry, Laura Camila Medina

Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, Sydney Cain, Yacine Fall, Mei Kazama, Daedalus Li, Marcelline Mandeng Nken, Avion Pearce

Harvey Geiger Fellowship Fund, Jarod Lew, Darby Routtenberg, Alexander Laurent Rubalcava

Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship, Louise Mandumbwa

### Prizes

Richard Benson Prize, Sophie Schwartz

Dean's Prize for the Class of 2023, Emmanuel Amoakohene, Hobbes Ginsberg, Paloma Izquierdo, Fiza Khatri, Adrian Martinez Chavez, Tura Oliveira, Kyle Richardson, Avery Youngblood

Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize, Madison Donnelly

H. Lee Hirsche Memorial Prize. Sarah Elawad

Fannie B. Pardee Prize, David Bordett

Charles Sawyer Prize, Cat Wentworth

Schickle-Collingwood Prize, Zoe Cire

Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize, Erick Alejandro Hernández

Ethel Childe Walker Prize, Doruk Eliacik

# Honorary Awards

Phelps Berdan Memorial Award, Jisung Park

George R. Bunker Award, Younes Kouider

Ward Cheney Memorial Award, Arielle Gray

Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award, Daniela Gomez Paz

Rebecca Taylor Porter Award, Junyi Shi

Robert Reed Award, Mikiala Ng, Elizabeth Olshanetsky, Talia Tax

Ely Harwood Schless Memorial Fund Award, Soren Hope

John Ferguson Weir Award, Sydney Mieko King

Susan H. Whedon Award, Anat Keinan

Helen W. Winternitz Award, Alexandria Couch

### Accolades

Dumfries House Residencies, Davy Dai, Ricardo Galvan, Khalif Tahir Thompson, Katharen Wiese

Horse Island Residency, Davion Alston, Claire Hungerford

MASS MoCA Residency, Madison Donnelly, Erick Alejandro Hernández

Henry Moore Foundation Residency, María Vargas Aguilar

Pasanella Program, Earthen Clay, Ang Ziqi Zhang

Peabody Summer Art Fellowship, Junyi Shi

Fredric Roberts Photography Workshops Fellowship, Natalie Ivis

Schneider Museum of Art VAST Residency, Sydney Mieko King

SOMA Summer, Mexico City, Mexico, Marcelline Mandeng Nken, Ken Wenrui Zhao

STPI Apprenticeship Programme, Singapore, Kaming Lee

Windowed Worlds, New Haven, Connecticut, Lauren Klotzman

Yale Pathways Teaching Fellowship, Orlando Porras

Yale Prison Education Initiative Teaching Fellowships, Jonathan Herrera Soto, Soren Hope